The ICC Awards

The awards Nominations are in, and for the first time the International Cricket Council (ICC) will recognise the woman cricketer of the year.

“The Award for Women’s Cricketer of the Year is a welcome and very appropriate addition to this year’s ceremony,” said ICC Chief Executive Malcolm Speed.

The final selection will be voted by a 56-member ICC academy comprising the 10 Test captains, 18 members of the umpires and match referees panel and 28 legends of the game and members of the media.


Cricketer of the Year: Ricky Ponting (AUS), Shane Warne (AUS), Muttiah Muralitharan (SRI), Michael Hussey (AUS), Andrew Flintoff (ENG), Mohammed Yousuf (PAK), Rahul Dravid (IND), Mahela Jayawardene (SRI), Younis Khan (PAK), Monty Panesar (ENG), Brett Lee (AUS), Makhaya Ntini (RSA), Adam Gilchrist (AUS).

Test Player of the Year: Michael Hussey (AUS), Ricky Ponting (AUS), Mohammed Yousuf (PAK), Andrew Flintoff (ENG), Shane Warne (AUS), Muttiah Muralitharan (SRI), Kumar Sangakarra (SRI), Rahul Dravid (IND), Mahela Jayawardene (SRI), Kevin Pietersen (ENG), Younis Khan (PAK), Matthew Hayden (AUS), Makhaya Ntini (RSA).

One-day Player of the Year: Yuvraj Singh (IND), Michael Hussey (AUS), Ricky Ponting (AUS), Shane Bond (NZL), Irfan Pathan (IND), Andrew Flintoff (ENG), Mahela Jayawardene (SRI), Muttiah Muralitharan (SRI), Rahul Dravid (IND), Kevin Pietersen (ENG), Mohammed Yousuf (PAK), Herschelle Gibbs (RSA), Brett Lee (AUS), Shahid Afridi (PAK), Inzamam-ul Haq (PAK), Adam Gilchrist (AUS), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI).

Emerging Player of the Year: Monty Panesar (ENG), Alastair Cook (ENG), Denesh Ramdin (WIS), Malinga Bandara (SRI), Mohammed Asif (PAK), Upul Tharanga (SRI), Ian Bell (ENG), Shahriar Nafees (BAN).

Captain of the Year: Michael Vaughan (ENG), Rahul Dravid (IND), Ricky Ponting (AUS), Mahela Jayawardene (SRI).

Umpire of the Year: Simon Taufel (AUS), Aleem Dar (PAK), Rudi Koertzen (RSA).

Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Karen Rolton (AUS), Cathryn Fitzpatrick (AUS), Anjum Chopra (IND), Neetu David (IND), Claire Taylor (ENG), Katherine Brunt (ENG), Emily Drumm (NZL).

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Archie Mac