Lara returns, loses captaincy

Having had his captaincy career put on hold for the first Test match against South Africa, Brian Lara has lost the captaincy entirely, as Shivnarine Chanderpaul has been retained as captain for the second Test. Chanderpaul led a spirited West Indies team, even in the absence of three key players (including Lara) amidst a contract dispute controversy.

The West Indies team posed two debutants and two players returning to the side after two- and four-year absences. Still, the home side dominated the touring South Africans for four of the five days but could not quite push home to victory. The match ended drawn.

With the Digicel-Cable and Wireless impasse seemingly over, Chris Gayle, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Brian Lara and Dwayne Bravo return to the side for the second Test. Making way are the two first Test debutants – Narsingh Deonarine and Donovan Pagon – and the recalled Devon Smith and Daren Ganga.

The second Test starts on Friday in Trinidad and Tobago.

West Indies 2nd Test squad:
S Chanderpaul (C), CO Browne (vc)(wk), BC Lara, CH Gayle, WW Hinds, RR Sarwan, RO Hinds, DJJ Bravo, RD King, PT Collins, DM Washington, DB Powell.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Liam Camps