Ganga to lead Windies ‘A’ team

Daren Ganga will lead a 15-member West Indies ‘A’ team, due to tour Sri Lanka later this month. The Trinidad and Tobago and West Indies opening batsman is one of eight players who boast Test experience. Indeed, all but two players have represented the West Indies at international level.

Narsingh Deonarine will serve as vice-captain, backing his Test debut earlier this year. Other notable names in the squad are those of pace trio Tino Best, Jermaine Lawson and Dwight Washington, as well as young batsmen Marlon Samuels, Xavier Marshall and Dwayne Smith.

Doing the glovework on tour will be top wicketkeeping prospect Carlton Baugh jr., who has represented the West Indies in both Tests and One Day Internationals.

The two fresh names in the team are those of Ryan Ramdass and Nikita Miller. Ramdass (21) seemingly came of age this season, scoring 502 runs at an average of 41.83 with 3 hundreds. He boasts a total of 888 First Class runs at an average of 34.15 over his career.

The 23-year-old Miller caught the eyes of the selectors when he snared 39 wickets at 19.56 apiece in his rookie season, posing economical left-arm spin.

Coaching the side will be former Windward Islands and West Indies fast bowler, Ian Allen, whilst Jamaican Lyndel Wright has been appointed to manage.

The squad:
Daren Ganga (C), Narsingh Deonarine (vc), Carlton Baugh, Jr. (wk), Dave Bernard, Jr., Tino Best, Kerry Jeremy, Jermaine Lawson, Xavier Marshall, Dave Mohammed, Runako Morton, Nikita Miller, Ryan Ramdass, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Smith, Dwight Washington.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Liam Camps