Pietersen's LBW call was obviously out, but watching it at full speed, you can see absolutely why he wasn't given out. It was nearly impossible to tell whether he jammed it into his foot or not.
Well that's 2 bad decisions in favour of England batsmen, the former which made no difference whatsoever, the latter which made virtually no difference whatsoever.
So certainly not a good start to the series for the Umpires but so far it's not mattered.
Appreciating cricket's greatest legend ever - HD Bird...............Funniest post (intentionally) ever.....Runner-up.....Third.....Fourthcricket player"; "Bob"), 1/11/1990-15/4/2006
(Accidental) founder of Twenty20 Is Boring Society. Click and post to sign-up.
My immediate reaction upon seeing it for the first time was "bloody hell, that's dead" but I've seen these sorts of things divide opinion before now.
Either way, it quite clearly should have been given out, whether it was an unforgiveable error or a forgiveable one.
And I so wish it had been given, as then KP wouldn't have been out to Hauritz.
My immediate thought was that he had jammed the ball into his foot, but if it hadn't hit his bat, it would have been dead.
KP's looked out but not for a minute would I consider Strauss's as an umpiring error.
For mine an umpiring error is when the batsman hits the ball and is given lbw, not when the ball is clipping leg stump (see Johnson to Strauss).
It was cannoning full-ball into leg-stump tbf. And with balls that length it's generally pretty obvious where they're going.
Definite mistake for me, but not the horrendous howler the KP one was.
Missed the pIetersen one but I thought Billy esp. had a very good day. The Strauss one was wrong but not a howler and he made some very food not out calls after that.
GOOD OLD COLLINGWOOD - PREMIERS IN 2010Originally Posted by Irfan
Is Cam White, Is Good.
Some mistakes are excuseable. Some are inexcuseable.
To give Strauss n\o was an excuseable mistake, but still a mistake.
The ball would have had to have been doing an awful lot to miss the stumps from there, which it wasn't.
As for the KP one, after replays I rewound Sky+ and re-watched it "live" 2 or 3 times, and IMO there was enough doubt as to what hit what in what order for the umpire's not out call to be justified. In addition, there's a clunking noise which sounded very much like bat on ball - if the umpires are wired to the stump-mic, which I believe is the case, it would have been very hard to give that out with 100% certainty.
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)