West Indies name “Super Stars”

A West Indian team to contest the richest prize in cricketing history has been named to take on South Africa in a one-off Twenty20 match in November this year.

The prize money is US$8 million and is being put up by Texas billionaire Allen Stanford as part of his mission to give a boost to cricket in the Caribbean.

The 20-man squad announced includes 13 players with international experience to their name. They are Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Wavell Hinds, Mervyn Dillon, Daren Ganga, Pedro Collins, Carlton Baugh, Rawl Lewis, Darren Sammy, Mahendra Nagamootoo and Narsingh Deonarine.

Lance Gibbs has been named as manager with David Williams coach and Hendy Springer as his assistant.

The squad was selected by former West Indies greats, including Sir Viv Richards and Sir Garfield Sobers.

West Indies Super Stars
Carlton Baugh, Pedro Collins, Esuan Crandon, Narsingh Deonarine, Mervyn Dillon, Travis Dowlin, Andre Fletcher, Daren Ganga, Chris Gayle, Dennis George, Wavell Hinds, Rawl Lewis, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Nelon Pascal, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Jerome Taylor and Tonito Willett.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon