West Indies name East Asia squad

The West Indies Board (WICB) have accepted the invitation from the Indian Cricket Board to play a tri-series in East Asia next month, also involving Australia.

A 14-man squad has been announced with the WICB bypassing the players association and offering contracts directly to the players themselves.

Brian Lara retains the captaincy following his apology to the board after criticising them about selections made and the pitches prepared against the touring Indians recently.

The biggest casualty in the squad is wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin missing out to Carlton Baugh.

The series will be held over two weeks in September and includes six pool matches and a final, with four games being played in Malaysia and three in Singapore.

West Indies Squad
Brian Lara (captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Runako Morton, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Carlton Baugh, Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards, Ian Bradshaw, Jerome Taylor, Marlon Samuels, Wavell Hinds.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon