Tigers Announce Squad for Africa

Bangladesh have included uncapped all-rounders Saqibul Hasan and Farhad Reza in a 15-man squad for their ‘African safari’, kicking off on July 19 against Kenya in Nairobi. There is no place for Tushar Imran, the middle-order batsman and slow left-arm bowler Abdur Razzak, but talented teenage keeper/batsman Mushfiqur Rahim returns to the international fold.

Saqibul, a left-arm spinner and aggressive middle-order batsman has shone at Under-19 level, while Farhad, a medium-pacer, has been rewarded following some outstanding performances with both bat and ball in the one-day national league.

The Tigers will play three one-day internationals against the Kenyans from July 19 to 23, followed by five games versus Zimbabwe from July 29.

Squad: Habibul Bashar (c), Mohammad Ashraful, Shahriar Nafees, Rajin Saleh, Javed Omar, Aftab Ahmed, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Khaled Mashud (wk), Mohammad Rafique, Mashrafe Mortaza, Syed Rasel, Shahadat Hossain, Farhad Reza, Saqibul Hasan, Alok Kapali.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by George Roberts