Sri Lanka topple West Indies

Sri Lanka’s Indian Oil CUp campaign continued on Tuesday with a fairly convincing victory over the West Indies. The day started well for Sri Lanka as captain Marvin Atapattu won the toss, and immediately elected to bat. Whilst opener Tharanga fell in the third over to WI opening bowler Butler, Atapattu played a very solid captain’s knock alongside wicket keeper batsman Kumar Sangakkara who came in 1st drop. They put on a 138 run partnership at a decent rate, before Sangakkara fell in the 37th over for 79 off 115 balls including 9 boundaries. An impressive knock. The score was 2/149.

Atapattu then put on a quick 22 run partnership with Dilhara, before both Dilhara and himself were out, stumped and run out respectively, attempting to lift the scoring rate. Atapattu eventually fell for 79 runs off 115 balls in the 43rd over with the score at 4-191. Jayawardene, Arnold and co. then finished out the innings for Sri Lanka, all contributing some quick runs allowing the innings to end at 6-241. Butler was the pick of the bowlers, finishing with 1-25 off his 10 overs including 2 maidens. Best and Smith also aided the WI with some tight bowling, but were let down by Lawson and Deonarine going for runs, keeping the pressure off the Sri Lankan batsman who always looked in control out there.

After the innings break it was time for Chanderpaul’s West Indies to attempt to chase down this gettable target of 242, but the innings started in perhaps the worst fashion for the West Indies with Maharoof picking up 2 early wickets, removing both West Indies openers (Xavier Marshall and Ramdass). It only got worse for the WI, with Dilhara getting a piece of the action, removing Joseph (ironically caught by the man of the moment, Maharoof) and then getting the prize wicket of the captain, Shivnarine Chanderpaul. Not long after the captain fell, Maharoof bowled Ricardo Powell, and at 5-39 after 15 overs, it looked curtains for the West Indies. However Dwayne Smith, who had already bowled well and achieved a run out earlier in the game, walked out on the field, and battled well forming a 36 run partnership with Deonarine before he fell to Fernando’s bowling, and then a 46 run partnership with Ramdin. Chandana managed to end the partnership which was beginning to look a little worrying for the Lankans, bowling Ramdin for 29, off just 33 deliveries. It was academic after that, with Murali cleaning up Tino Best and eventually Dwayne Smith, whose gallant effort will hopefully result in more successful knocks for him during the rest of the series. He scored 68 runs off 90 balls including nine 4s and two 6s. The West Indies were eventually bowled out for 191 after 45.1 overs, 50 runs short of the Sri Lankan’s total.

The pick of the bowlers for Sri Lanka was without a doubt Maharoof who finishes with amazing figures of 3-9 off his 10 overs, including 5 maidens. He took the game from the West Indies before their innings had barely began. His fantastic effort resulted in him achieving man of the match, and will please Sri Lankan fans considering their key fast bowler, Chaminda Vaas, is still to return to the side from injury. The Indian Oil Cup final looks certain to be between India and Sri Lanka, and with SL’s form improving game by game, their next battle with India shall be one to look forward to. The West Indies have some positives to take out of this game such as Butler’s impressive bowling performance and Dwayne Smith’s gallant knock despite their poor batting. If Shivnarine Chanderpaul can get himself in some form, maybe the West Indies can sneak a win or two in the next few tournament matches.

Sri Lanka: 6/241 (50 overs)
KC Sangakkara 79 (115), MS Atapattu 70 (108)
Butler 1/25 (10), Smith 1/39 (9)
West Indies All Out for 191 (45.1 overs)

CricketWeb Man Of The Match:
DR Smith 68 (90), 1/39 (9) and 1 run out. (Maharoof unlucky to miss out)

Tournament Points:
Sri Lanka: 6 (Total 12)
West Indies: 0 (Total: 0)

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Jonathan Augustus