Sri Lanka name extended squad

With Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vass struggling to the fit for Sri Lanka’s first Test against Pakistan, an extended 18-man squad has been named.

Michael Vandort and Ian Daniel have been named as cover for Jayasuriya while Nuwan Kulasekera and Dammika Prasad are covering for Vass.

Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene has said Jayasuriya is more likely to play than Vass, as he is “recovering very well” from a thigh strain.

Vass’ side strain injury is much more serious though and Jayawardene has said no risks will be taken with the upcoming tour of England in mind.

The first Test starts on 24th March at the Sinhalese Sports Club Ground.

Sri Lanka (subject to Sports Ministry ratification)
Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Michael van Dort, Ian Daniel, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Tilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Lasith Malinga, Dammika Prasad, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Malinga Bandara, Sajeewa Weerakoon.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon