SA name 30 man World Cup squad

South Africa have submitted their 30 man provisional World Cup squad to the ICC, including 14 coloured players.

The list which will be cut down to 15 players by February 13th, must have seven coloured players, a target set by Cricket South Africa.

Convenor of selectors Haroon Lorgat told Reuters that he is optimistic the target can be met.

“The last two years have been part of that process,” he said

“I can’t see why we won’t achieve that and I will be over the moon if we can select seven players of colour.”

Lorgat said the final 15 man squad that would make the trip to the Caribbean was more or less decided, with just a few places up for grabs.

“We are already pretty close to the final 15. Twelve or 13 players are pencilled in and we will have to see what unfolds during the Pakistan series.”

Gerald Majola, chief executive of CSA, noted the high standards and immense strength of the squad

“All of these players have been involved in high level domestic or international competition, and they have either been involved in the High Performance training programme, or some other training programme in the last two years,” he said.

South Africa Preliminary World Cup squad: Loots Bosman, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, Boeta Dippenaar, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Hall, Paul Harris, Jacques Kallis, Justin Kemp, Garnett Kruger, Charl Langeveldt, Albie Morkel, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Justin Ontong, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Shaun Pollock, Ashwell Prince, Jacques Rudolph, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Roger Telemachus, Alfonso Thomas, Thandi Tshabalala, Johan van der Wath, Morne van Wyk.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Zac Gelman