Pietersen in, Thorpe out

The England selectors have picked Kevin Pietersen over Graham Thorpe for the first Ashes Test against Australia at Lord’s starting next week.

The chairman of selectors David Graveney said it was a very difficult decision to make but Pietersen’s superb form in the NatWest Series and NatWest Challenge tipped it in his favour.

Graveney was quick to point out that this wouldn’t mean the end of Thorpe’s international career and that he will still come under consideration for the rest of the Ashes series.

Chris Tremlett has also made the 12 man squad edging out Jon Lewis.

Full Squad:

England – Marcus Trescothick, Andrew Strauss, Michael Vaughan (capt), Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Andrew Flintoff, Geraint Jones (wk), Ashley Giles, Simon Jones, Matthew Hoggard, Steve Harmison, Chris Tremlett.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon