NZC releases 2006/07 itinerary

New Zealand Cricket have released the itinerary for the 2006/07 summer of cricket with Sri Lanka and Australia touring the country.

Sri Lanka tour New Zealand for two Test Matches, two Twenty20 internationals, and five one-day internationals in December/January.

The Test component of their tour was reduced from three Tests to two Tests due to climatic reasons and New Zealand Cricket feeling that with the Twenty20 World Cup next year, scheduling two Twenty20 internationals would benefit the players in preparation for the tournament.

Australia tour in February for the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy and play three one-day internationals.

Sri Lanka fixtures:
Nov 30-Dec 3 – v Otago at University Oval, Dunedin;
Dec 7 -11, first test, Jade Stadium, Christchurch;
Dec 15-19, second test , Basin Reserve, Wellington;
Dec 22 – first Twenty20 International, Westpac Stadium, Wellington;
Dec 26: second Twenty20 International, Eden Park, Auckland;
Dec 28: first ODI, McLean Park, Napier;
Dec 31: second ODI, Queenstown Events Centre (provisional);
Jan 2: third ODI, Jade Stadium, Christchurch;
Jan 6: fourth ODI, Eden Park, Auckland;
Jan 9: fifth ODI, Seddon Park, Hamilton.

Australia fixtures:
Feb 16: first ODI, Westpac Stadium, Wellington;
Feb 18: second ODI, Eden Park, Auckland (to be confirmed);
Feb 20: third ODI, Seddon Park, Hamilton.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon