Jayasuriya gets the call up

Sanath Jayasuriya has been named in the fourteen man squad for the first Test against South Africa starting in Colombo on Thursday.

With no Sri Lankan A players managing to impress in their tour match against South Africa, the selectors decided to stick with experience with no surprises in the players been named.

The only injury concern within the squad is left-arm spinner Rangana Herath with Sajeewa Weerakoon being placed on stand-by should Herath not recover in time.

Sri Lanka Squad
Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedara, Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Malinga Bandara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Michael Vandort, Rangana Herath.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon