Hussey to captain Australia

Michael Hussey has been named captain of the Australian team with Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist being rested from the upcoming Chappell-Hadlee series in New Zealand. Michael Clarke is his deputy.

Ponting was advised to rest his sore back ahead of the World Cup in the Caribbean, while Gilchrist is being rested after having a busy summer.

Western Australian batsman Adam Voges and New South Wales wicket-keeper Brad Haddin have been named as their replacements.

Chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch had the following to say on Ponting’s and Gilchrist’s exclusion:

“We have received medical advice that it would be prudent for Ricky Ponting to withdraw from competitive cricket in between the Commonwealth Bank Series Finals and the start of the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup,” NSP chairman said.

“While his sore back does not prevent him from playing cricket at present, we are advised that for Ricky to arrive at the World Cup in the best possible physical shape, his workload should be managed through this period. It should be noted that there is no question over Ricky’s availability for the World Cup.”

“Adam Gilchrist has had a demanding summer and has performed brilliantly in both forms of the game. Our view is consistent with the management of player workload and in conjunction with Adam it is felt that he should use the period after the Commonwealth Bank Finals to allow his body to properly recover in advance of the Cricket World Cup.”

The first of three one-dayers in the Chappell-Hadlee series starts on 16th February at the Westpac Stadium in Wellington.

Australia Squad
Michael Hussey (captain), Michael Clarke (vice captain), Nathan Bracken, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon