England name development squad

England have named their 25-man development squad for this summer, including uncapped Stuart Broad and Ed Joyce.

Others who were not in last year’s squad include Rikki Clarke, Jon Lewis and Chris Read. These five have all played for England A, and Broad, just 19, and Read have both had very impressive starts to their respective seasons. Read has also made headlines for the wrong reasons however, after a spat involving Mushtaq Ahmed.

Of those who toured the subcontinent with England last winter, five are left out, 36 year-old Shaun Udal, Gareth Batty, Vikram Solanki, Kabir Ali and Matt Prior, who appears to have slipped behind Read in the reserve keeper stakes.

Other notable exclusions include Robert Key, Darren Gough and Chris Tremlett. Chairman of selectors David Graveney, however, stated that players outside of this squad could still make the side, saying: “All the selectors are unanimous that the Development Squad must not be viewed as a ‘closed shop’ and players outside of the squad whose form merits the attention of the selectors will continue to be considered for England in the usual way”

England Development Squad

Players with asterisks are centrally contracted
Michael Vaughan*, James Anderson, Ian Bell*, Ian Blackwell, Stuart Broad , Rikki Clarke, Paul Collingwood*, Alastair Cook, Andrew Flintoff*, Ashley Giles*, Stephen Harmison*, Matthew Hoggard, Geraint Jones*, Simon Jones*, Ed Joyce, Jon Lewis, Alex Loudon , Sajid Mahmood, Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen*, Liam Plunkett, Chris Read, Owais Shah , Andrew Strauss*, Marcus Trescothick*

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Alex Crampton