Bravo and Bradshaw ommitted

Dwayne Bravo and Ian Bradshaw have been omitted for the next two ODIs against Zimbabwe with three new faces coming into the West Indies squad.

Sewnarine Chattergoon, a left-hand opening batsman from Guyana comes in along with bowlers Tino Best and Dave Mohammed who have both represented the West Indies previously.

With the West Indies leading the seven match series 2-0, Brian Lara has said ‘everyone will get a run’ in preparation for the Indian series that follows the Zimbabwe series.

This is likely to see Jermone Taylor rested for the next two one-dayers in Guyana Lara said after his two man of the match performances in Antigua where Taylor took 2-19 and 4-24.

Lara added that he doesn’t plan on playing the entire seven-match series and that a vice captain would be named to take over for the last couple of matches.

West Indies squad
Brian Lara (captain), Chris Gayle, Runako Morton, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Smith, Denesh Ramdin, Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards, Jerome Taylor, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Tino Best, Dave Mohammed.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon