Boje left out of Champs squad

Despite stating his availability to play in India, Nicky Boje has been left out of South Africa’s Champion’s Trophy squad.

Boje, along with Herschelle Gibbs, had opted out of playing in India previously, for fear of being detained by police, but had stated his willingness to co-operate with the Indian authorities. Gibbs was selected however.

The sole spinner chosen from South Africa’s relatively bare spin cupboard is Robin Peterson, who has a substantially poorer ODI record than Boje, wth both bat and ball. The 14 man squad will also take on Zimbabwe in the short upcoming series, with the addition of four others, Boje not among them. Also, South Africa will be led by Jacques Kallis against Zimbabwe, with Smith still recovering from ankle surgery.

Kallis himself is a doubt though, as are Justin Kemp and Charl Langeveldt. All three will undergo fitness Tests to see if they are able to play in the three match series starting on September 15.

South Africa Champions Trophy squad
Graeme Smith (captain), Jacques Kallis, Loots Bosman, Mark Boucher (wk), AB de Villiers, Boeta Dippenaar, Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Hall, Justin Kemp, Charl Langeveldt, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Shaun Pollock, Robin Peterson

Additional players to play Zimbabwe
JP Duminy, Alviro Peterson, Roger Telemachus, Johan van der Wath

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Alex Crampton