Tait and Haddin secure WC spots

Brad Haddin and Shaun Tait have beaten off the challenges of Cameron White and Stuart Clark to be included in Australia’s 15-man World Cup squad.

It was expected that Brad Haddin would be included following Gilchrist’s announcement that he would miss the beginning of the World Cup to be with his wife who is expecting their third child.

Haddin had a fantastic domestic season leading up the World Cup, scoring 406 runs at 67.67 in the one-day game and 669 runs at 55.75 in first-class cricket.

Brad Hogg beat off the challenge from Cameron White to secure one of the all-rounders spots, while the pace of Shaun Tait was preferred to the all-round accuracy of Stuart Clark.

Andrew Symonds is also included even though he is currently recovering from rupturing his biceps during the Commonwealth Bank Series.

“We have been planning for the defence of the ICC Cricket World Cup for two years. We’ve been pleased with the team’s preparation and extremely pleased with the victory in the recent ICC Champions Trophy. This squad represents a balance of experience and youth and is capable of winning the ICC Cricket World Cup for the third time in a row,” chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said.

Hilditch went onto say “Shaun Tait has been selected and it is fair to say it was a difficult decision to make on Stuart Clark, who has been part of the squad this summer. Shaun’s pace will give us extra fire power during the power plays and at the end of the innings and adds variation to the pace attack for the World Cup.”

“Cameron White is extremely unlucky to miss selection in the squad. He is a young man with a bright future for Australia. We think he’ll only get better with age. The reality is that since Cameron was picked in the squad Shane Watson has returned and Brad Hogg has seized his opportunity, meaning Cameron has missed out today.”

Australia play their first game of the World Cup against Scotland on March 14th.

Australia Squad
Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Shane Watson

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon