Black Caps Test Squad named

The Black Caps squad for The National Bank Series against Bangladesh is:

Daniel Vettori (captain)
Brendon McCullum (vice captain)
Matthew Bell
Craig Cumming
Stephen Fleming
Peter Fulton
Chris Martin
Michael Mason
Kyle Mills
Iain O’Brien
Jacob Oram
Mathew Sinclair

Jeetan Patel will come into the squad for the second test in Wellington. Mark Gillespie will also undergo fitness assessments and, if included, one of the bowlers will drop out.

Selector Glenn Turner said: “Batting has been a concern in recent seasons so we have selected players who we believe can occupy the crease for long periods.

“The most difficult decisions were around opening the batting and who should bat No. 5.

“In our assessment the bowling attack performed reasonably well in South Africa so we have retained that group.”

The first National Bank Test begins at the University Oval, Dunedin, on Friday January 4, and the second is at the Basin Reserve, Wellington, starting January 11.

NZ Cricket Media Release

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon