Sri Lanka ring the changes

The Sri Lankan selectors have rung the changes for the upcoming one-day series against Pakistan leaving out a large number of senior players.

Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas and Kumar Sangakkara are missing from the squad with the three players all involved with county cricket in England, while the selectors have dumped former captain Marvan Atapattu and allrounder Nuwan Kulasekera.

In all, only nine players from the World Cup squad have been named, with the selectors opting to go on the side of youth.

Prasanna Jayawardene will take the gloves for the first time in four years, while batsman Chamara Kapugedara and leg-spinner Kaushal Lokuarachchi earn recalls.

There are a couple of new faces as well in batsman Malintha Warnapura and fast bowler Ishara Amarasinghe who according to chief selector Asantha de Mel “bowls at a good pace and has an unusual action like Lasith Malinga and troubles batsmen often.”

Sri Lanka play three one-dayers against Pakistan on the 18th, 20th and 22nd of May in Abu Dhabi.

Sri Lanka Squad
Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Chamara Silva, TM Dilshan, Farveez Maharoof, Dilhara Fernando, Malinga Bandara, Lasith Malinga, Malintha Warnapura, Prasanna Jayawardene, Ruchira Perera, Ishara Amarasinghe, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Chamara Kapugedara.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon