Ponting named cricketer of the year

Ricky Ponting and the Australian team have again dominated the ICC Awards with the Aussies taking home five of the eight awards.

Ponting secured two awards taking the Cricketer of the year and Captain of the year awards. Mohammad Yousuf, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Kevin Pietersen were the other players up for the award.

Shaun Tait secured the emerging player of the year award for his excellent World Cup performances where he took 23 wickets from 11 matches.

Mohammad Yousuf who has signed a contract with the Indian Cricket League took home the Test player of the award.

Simon Taufel once again took home the Umpire of the year award for the fourth year running.

Cricketer of the year: Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Test player of the year: Mohammad Yousuf (Pak)
ODI player of the year: Matthew Hayden (Aus)
Captain of the year: Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Emerging player of the year: Shaun Tait (Aus)
Umpire of the year: Simon Taufel (Aus)
Women’s cricketer of the year: Jhulan Goswami (Ind)
Associate ODI player of the year: Thomas Odoyo (Ken)
Spirit of cricket award: Sri Lanka
Test team of the year: Matthew Hayden (Aus), Michael Vaughan (Eng), Ricky Ponting (Aus, captain), Mohammad Yousuf (Pak), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Michael Hussey (Aus), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Stuart Clark (Aus), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL), Mahkaya Ntini (SA), Mohammad Asif (Pak), Zaheer Khan (Ind) (12th man)
ODI team of the year: Matthew Hayden (Aus), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Ricky Ponting (Aus, captain), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Jacques Kallis (SA), Mark Boucher (SA), Chaminda Vaas (SL), Shane Bond (NZ), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL), Glenn McGrath (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus) (12th man)

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon