Pakistan name Champs squad

The Pakistan Cricket Board have named their 14-man squad for the Champions Trophy in India next month, with Inzamam-ul-Haq to lead the squad even though he faces an International Cricket Council disciplinary hearing after being charged with ball-tampering and bringing the game into disrepute.

If Inzamam is found guility at the hearing which is likely to be on September 28th/29th, he is likely to face a ban of either eight one-day internationals or four Test matches.

The Champions Trophy starts on 15th October, with Pakistan’s first match on 17th October against a qualifier which is expected to be the West Indies or Sri Lanka.

Pakistan Squad
Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Rana Naved, Kamran Akmal, Imran Farhat, Mohammad Asif, Umar Gul, Mohammad Hafeez, Rao Iftikhar.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon