New Zealand Ring the Changes

The selectors have decided the time is right for changes and have axed Nathan Astle, Craig McMillan, James Marshall, James Franklin and Chris Martin for the upcoming one-day series against Sri Lanka starting later this month.

Peter Fulton and Jamie How are the new call-ups and have been selected for their consistent performances in domestic cricket and for New Zealand ‘A’ over the past few seasons.

Peter Fulton averages 31.38 across 42 List A matches with one hundred and eight fifties, while Jamie How averages 24.65 across 46 List A matches with no hundreds and nine fifties.

Stephen Fleming, Shane Bond and Andre Adams return to the squad after missing the recent Chappell-Hadlee series through injury.

Hamish Marshall remains within the squad after averaging only 9.50 across his past 10 one-day internationals with scores of 9, 7, 8, 3, 16, 7, 3, 5, 10, 27. The selection panel had the following to say on his selection.

“We were unanimous in the decision to select Hamish Marshall. We acknowledge his recent lack of form but believe he will turn it around. We were also conscious of the need to retain continuity within the squad and not to make wholesale changes.”

The full squad is as follows, and the first of four ODIs kicks off in Queenstown on December 31st:

Stephen Fleming (captain), Daniel Vettori (vice captain), Andre Adams, Shane Bond, Chris Cairns, Peter Fulton, Jamie How, Hamish Marshall, Brendon McCullum, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Scott Styris. Lou Vincent

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon