Black Caps squad for Champs

Black Caps coach John Bracewell today announced the Black Caps squad for the ICC Champions Trophy in India in October.

The squad is:

Stephen Fleming (captain)
Nathan Astle
Shane Bond
James Franklin
Peter Fulton
Mark Gillespie
Brendon McCullum
Hamish Marshall
Kyle Mills
Jacob Oram
Jeetan Patel
Scott Styris
Daniel Vettori
Lou Vincent

Michael Mason was unavailable for selection due to injury.

“This is the strongest side that we can put together for what is a major tournament at the start of an intensive one-day season,” Bracewell said.

“Mark Gillespie was the domestic season’s outstanding pace bowler and performed well during the Top End Series. He thoroughly deserves his place in the squad and his skills as a specialist death bowler will extend our depth in this area.

“Scott Styris missed his last match for Middlesex due to a back injury. The advice we have from Middlesex is that Scott should be able to return to cricket next week. We will take a wait and see approach before considering whether he can tour and have no need to consider a replacement at this stage.

“Hamish Marshall has performed extremely well in his county season for Gloucestershire having scored five First Class centuries and we look forward to seeing this return to form continue with the BLACKCAPS.

“Lou Vincent has averaged over 63 in one-day matches for Worcestershire and also seems to be in very good form.”

New Zealand Cricket Media Release

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon