Bashar retained for Sri Lanka tour

Habibul Bashar has been retained in the Bangladesh squad for the upcoming tour of Sri Lanka despite losing the captaincy to Mohammad Ashraful.

Abdur Razzak and Mushfiqur Rahim return replacing Enamul Haque and Tushar Imran within the 15-man squad named for the three Test series.

Chairman of selectors Faruq Ahmed told BBC that “Razzak had a very good World Cup. He is ninth in the one-day rankings, so, naturally, we thought he should be given chances in the longer version of the game”.

Ahmed went onto say “We selected Rahim because of his all-round abilities. He is a stand-by wicket-keeper and a good middle-order batsman. He has already played two Tests as a batsman.”

Bangladesh Squad
Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Masharafe Mortaza, Habibul Bashar, Javed Omar, Mehrab Hossain, Shahriar Nafees, Rajin Saleh, Saqibul Hasan, Khaled Mashud, Shahadat Hossain, Syed Rasel, Mohammad Rafique, Abdur Razzak, Mohammad Sharif, Mushfiqur Rahim.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon