• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Chris Cairns' Perjury Trial

hendrix

Hall of Fame Member
Essentially the exact same case that Cairns has just been through - that he lied in court in order to benefit himself financially. I'm not a lawyer, but fraud maybe?
nah IIRC Modi's case was dependent on the outcome of this trial.

Which essentially means that not only has Cairns got free here, he's also pretty likely to have gotten away with $1 million of Modi's money.

hendrix

Hall of Fame Member
So if he did matchfix, and he was paid well for it (of which I'm not sure - remember these guys are gangsters and would prefer not to pay if they could), then he's done pretty bloody well out of this.

Bahnz

Hall of Fame Member

Which essentially means that not only has Cairns got free here, he's also pretty likely to have gotten away with $1 million of Modi's money.
Chris Cairns trial: Lalit Modi's next move looms large in life of perjury acquitted star | Stuff.co.nz

Modi has had a lawyer in court throughout the trial and had previously signalled his intent to issue legal proceedings against Cairns in London to claw back damages and costs from the libel trial, but that action was on hold until after the criminal proceedings.

He will almost certainly take a civil suit, which has a lower level of proof (balance of probabilities) than a criminal trial.