View Poll Results: Is it a catch

Voters
16. You may not vote on this poll
  • Not a catch

    10 62.50%
  • Yes a catch

    4 25.00%
  • Athlai stole PEWS' girl

    2 12.50%
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 58

Thread: IS this a catch?

  1. #1
    Cricketer Of The Year Hurricane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Stopping the AFL spreading to NZ
    Posts
    9,083

    IS this a catch?

    Saw this in the big bash game.

    Someone takes a catch while diving in air. They then hold the ball with one hand as they continue diving through the air. then they land on the ground with their hand pressing the ball into the turf as they land and skid along the grass.
    The ball has touched the ground here before he has control over his body. Is this is a catch.

    Spikey says it is.

    I say no.
    Quote Originally Posted by HeathDavisSpeed View Post
    I got great enjoyment in going to the game and shouting "WHY THE **** ISN'T THIS GAME BEING PLAYED AT THE BASIN?!>!?!?" to reasonably significant cheers from the sparse crowd
    Proudly against the bring back Bennett movement since he is injury prone and won't last 5 days.

  2. #2
    Request Your Custom Title Now! benchmark00's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Is this CricketWeb's greatest poster in the short history of the forum?
    Posts
    37,156
    Yes it is, as per my explanation in the BBL thread.
    Parmi | #1 draft pick | Jake King is **** | Big Bash League tipping champion of the universe
    Come and Paint Turtle
    Quote Originally Posted by Jono View Post
    Kohli. Do something in test cricket for once please.

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    International Coach
    Suicide Bob Champion!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Not really needed on CW
    Posts
    11,991
    I think it would depend from catch to catch, but in this hypothetical case it should be out.

  4. #4
    Cricketer Of The Year Manee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Heaven
    Posts
    8,426
    Definitely not.
    The speed at which a fielding team gets through the innings is overrated.


  5. #5
    International Coach
    Suicide Bob Champion!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Not really needed on CW
    Posts
    11,991
    Quote Originally Posted by Hurricane View Post
    Saw this in the big bash game.

    Someone takes a catch while diving in air. They then hold the ball with one hand as they continue diving through the air. then they land on the ground with their hand pressing the ball into the turf as they land and skid along the grass.
    The ball has touched the ground here before he has control over his body. Is this is a catch.

    Spikey says it is.

    I say no.
    The rules say you have to be in control of the ball though, not the body isn't it?

  6. #6
    International Coach HeathDavisSpeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Rummaging through Iain O'Brien's dustbins.
    Posts
    13,961
    I'm pretty sure that used to be not out, but I'm also pretty sure the Law (maybe not Law, but interpretation, maybe?) changed a good while back.
    >>>>>>WHHOOOOOOOOOSHHHHHHH>>>>>>
    Fascist Dictator of the Heath Davis Appreciation Society
    Supporting Petone's Finest since the very start - Iain O'Brien
    Adam Wheater - Another batsman off the Essex production line
    Also Supporting the All Time #1 Batsman of All Time Ever - Jacques Kallis and the much maligned Peter Siddle.


    Vimes tells it how it is:
    Quote Originally Posted by Samuel_Vimes View Post
    Heath worryingly quick.

  7. #7
    Cricket Web Staff Member / Global Moderator Neil Pickup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    26,781
    As far as I'd take it, that's not out, as you're not in control of ball and body when the ball is grounded.
    MSN Messenger: minardineil2000 at hotmail dot com | AAAS Chairman
    CricketWeb Black | CricketWeb XI Captain
    ClarkeWatch: We're Watching Rikki - Are You?

    Up The Grecians - Exeter City FC

    Completing the Square: My Cricket Web Blog

  8. #8
    Hall of Fame Member Marcuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Above you
    Posts
    15,217
    1. Out Caught
    The striker is out Caught if a ball delivered by the bowler, not being a No ball, touches his bat without having previously been in contact with any fielder, and is subsequently held by a fielder as a fair catch before it touches the ground.

    3. A fair catch
    A catch shall be considered to have been fairly made if
    (a) throughout the act of making the catch
    (i) any fielder in contact with the ball is within the field of play. See 4 below.
    (ii) the ball is at no time in contact with any object grounded beyond the boundary.
    The act of making the catch shall start from the time when the ball in flight comes into contact with some part of a fielder’s person other than a protective helmet, and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control both over the ball and over his own movement.
    (b) the ball is hugged to the body of the catcher or accidentally lodges in his clothing or, in the case of the wicket-keeper only, in his pads. However, it is not a fair catch if the ball lodges in a protective helmet worn by a fielder. See Law 23 (Dead ball).
    (c) the ball does not touch the ground even though the hand holding it does so in effecting the catch.
    (d) a fielder catches the ball after it has been lawfully struck more than once by the striker, but only if it has not been grounded since first being struck.
    (e) a fielder catches the ball after it has touched an umpire, another fielder or the other batsman.
    However, it is not a fair catch if the ball has previously touched a protective helmet worn by a fielder. The ball will then remain in play.
    (f) a fielder catches the ball in the air after it has crossed the boundary provided that
    (i) he has no part of his person touching or grounded beyond the boundary at any time while he is contact with the ball.
    (ii) the ball has not been grounded beyond the boundary. See Law 19.3 (Scoring a boundary).
    Note also Law 19.4 (Ball beyond the boundary)
    (g) the ball is caught off an obstruction within the boundary provided the obstruction had not been designated a boundary by the umpires before the toss.

    No catch.

  9. #9
    Hall of Fame Member Howe_zat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Top floor, bottom buzzer
    Posts
    15,575
    I haven't seen this catch, but I would think it's not out.

    Imagine for example if the ball was coming to you at ankle height, and instead of bending down to take it you just firmly stepped on the ball; pressing it against the ground with your foot. That's obviously not out.

    Well, in this case, if you press the ball against the ground with your hand as you're in the process of taking it, what's the real difference?
    I'm always suspicious of shops that sell bait.

  10. #10
    Request Your Custom Title Now! benchmark00's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Is this CricketWeb's greatest poster in the short history of the forum?
    Posts
    37,156
    No, it's a catch.

    Refer to Heath's comment re: changing interpretation.

    Having control of the ball and the ball incidentally touching the grass is not the same as using the ground to gain control of the ball.

  11. #11
    International Coach uvelocity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    seamy road
    Posts
    11,313
    I said in the match thread I didn't like it.

    Looked like a catch, but grounding the ball like that is no good imo
    "He uses statistics as a drunken man uses lamp-posts.. . For support rather than illumination. " - Andrew Lang (1844-1912)

  12. #12
    International Coach uvelocity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    seamy road
    Posts
    11,313
    Sean Abbott catch vs Queensland 2010/11 KFC Big Bash - YouTube

    You know what's funny? This isn't the same catch but it's at the same ground on nearly the same peice of grass, and he lands grounding the ball here too. Makes a habit of it imo. Had the ball for a bit longer in this catch.

  13. #13
    International Coach
    Suicide Bob Champion!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Not really needed on CW
    Posts
    11,991
    Quote Originally Posted by Howe_zat View Post
    Well, in this case, if you press the ball against the ground with your hand as you're in the process of taking it, what's the real difference?
    OP says he's already taken it though ("hold"), he just grounds it so he doesn't fall flat on his face.

  14. #14
    Eyes not spreadsheets marc71178's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    57,302
    If he grounds it to avoid falling flat on his face then he's not got control of it IMO.
    marc71178 - President and founding member of AAAS - we don't only appreciate when he does well, but also when he's not quite so good!

    Anyone want to join the Society?

    Beware the evils of Kit-Kats - they're immoral apparently.

  15. #15
    Spanish_Vicente sledger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    cricsim, lol
    Posts
    30,047
    Clearly not a catch.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Great Test Matches..
    By Neil Pickup in forum General
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 04-10-2010, 07:17 PM
  2. ***Official*** India in Australia
    By pasag in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 12920
    Last Post: 06-02-2008, 05:04 AM
  3. Replies: 149
    Last Post: 23-12-2007, 03:49 AM
  4. Test Catch Cricket
    By Anna in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 30-01-2007, 05:36 PM
  5. Classic Catch Flash Game
    By mrtruffle in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-11-2006, 03:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •