Vengsarkar to lead selectors

Former Indian Test captain Dilip Vengsarkar has been appointed chairman of the Indian national selection committee.

Vengsarkar will join former Test spinner SL Venkatapathy Raju on the selection committee. Raju replaces VB Chandrasekhar on the panel, while Vengsarkar replaces outgoing chairman Kiran More. The rest of the selection committee remains unchanged.

Among other changes in Indian cricket, Kapil Dev replaces Sunil Gavaskar as director of the National Cricket Academy while Srinivas Venkataraghavan has been appointed as the director of the Umpires Development Program.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Arunava Das