Tsunami relief squads named

Surrey Cricket Club have confirmed the list of stars to play in the Twenty20 tsunami appeal match at the Brit Oval.

The International XI will be captained by Brian Lara, the Asian XI to be led by Rahul Dravid.

It will feature some of the world’s finest cricketers, including test’s leading wicket taker Shane Warne in the International XI while Harbhajan Singh and Muttiah Muralitharan will join the Asian team.

Other notable inclusions are England’s Graham Thorpe, Zimbabweans Andy Flower and Heath Streak while Stephen Fleming and Chris Cairns hold the New Zealand flag. They join a host of South Africans, including skipper Graeme Smith.

Top one-day bowler Chaminda Vaas will spearhead the Asian XI’s attack alongside India’s Irfan Pathan. Sri Lankan opening pair Sanath Jayasuria and Marvan Atapattu will lead the batting, with Kumar Sangakkara to keep wicket.

A similiar relief event took place in Melbourne earlier in the year with unprecedented success. It continues a continuing trend of fundraising and support throughout the cricketing world to help those affecting in the tsunami last year.

The match is raising money through the Oval Cricket Relief trust specifically to rebuild a Sri Lankan village.

International XI (one to be added)
Brian Lara (capt), Graeme Smith, Stephen Fleming, Andy Flower (wkt), Graham Thorpe, Chris Cairns, Shaun Pollock, Heath Streak, Shane Warne, Makhaya Ntini.

Asia XI (one to be added)
Rahul Dravid (capt), Marvan Atapattu, Sanath Jayasuria, Mahela Jayawardene, Mohammed Kaif, Kumar Sangakkara (wkt), Irfan Pathan, Chaminda Vaas, Harbhajan Singh, Muttiah Muralitharan.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Andrew Marmont