Taufel laments Sachin decision

Umpire Simon Taufel has expressed his regret at mistakenly giving Sachin Tendulkar out in the first innings at Trent Bridge on 91.

The Australian raised the finger giving the ‘Little Master’ out LBW, agonisingly close to what would have been his 38th Test ton. However television replays suggested the decision was a poor one – suggesting the ball would have easily gone on to miss off-stump.

“I always look at the big screen after giving a decision. And the minute I saw the replay of Sachin’s dismissal, I knew I got it wrong. The big disappointment is that people come to watch the top players and I gave him out wrongly. That upset me,” he told television commentators after the fourth’s day play at Trent Bridge.

However there were no regrets from the umpire over another dubious decision resulting in Sourav Ganguly being dismissed, caught behind, saying he would give that out “every time”.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Zac Gelman