Strauss to lead new-look England

Andrew Strauss will lead England in the upcoming one-day international series against Sri Lanka. Strauss assumes the captaincy in the absence of Michael Vaughan and Andrew Flintoff.

Vaughan has not yet fully recovered from his knee injury, while allrounder Flintoff has been ruled out with an ankle injury. Flintoff has been the stand-in for Vaughan since his injury, but was injured during the recent third Test defeat against Sri Lanka.

Five uncapped players have been included in the new-look 15-man squad, as England make wholesale changes in preparation for next year’s Cricket World Cup. The changes come after England was beaten 5-1 in India earlier this year.

Tim Bresnan, Glen Chapple, James Dalrymple, Ed Joyce and Alex Loudon are the new names. Ashley Giles and Simon Jones remain sidelined, but fast bowler Stephen Harmison has been recalled to England colours, having recovered from injury.

England warm up for the series against Ireland next week Tuesday, and play Sri Lanka in a 20-Twenty international next Saturday.

Strauss led England in two ODI matches in India.

England ODI squad:

Andrew Strauss (C), Geraint Jones (wk), Matthew Prior (wk), Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, James Dalrymple, Alastair Cook, Stephen Harmison, Alex Loudon, Sajid Mahmood, Kevin Pietersen, Marcus Trescothick, Liam Plunkett, Ed Joyce, Tim Bresnan, Glen Chapple.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Liam Camps