Stalemate in ECB chairman ballot

The first round of voting to decide the new England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) chairman has ended in stalemate, meaning the process will have to be repeated.

Each of the 18 First-Class counties plus Marleybone Cricket Club (MCC) have a vote. However, following an abstention, former Surrey chairman Michael Soper and Somerset CEO Giles Clarke received nine votes each.

Soper had been the favourite, and may remain so when the ballot recommences, though new candidates may now join.

The new chairman will take over from David Morgan in October this year, as he leaves to become International Cricket Council President.

The date of the next ballot is expected to be announced in the next 48 hours.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Richard Dickinson