Shoaib cleared of ball tampering

International Cricket Council match referee Mike Procter has cleared Shoaib Akhtar and the rest of the Pakistani team of any wrongdoing, following television footage showing Shoaib touching the seam.

A statement issued on behalf of Procter, read: “After viewing television footage the match umpires have decided no action should be taken against any Pakistan players.”

The footage had seen former England captain and now Sky commentator Nasser Hussain label Shoaib Akhtar “as stupid”, during the post match wrap of the third ODI, won by Pakistan by two wickets.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Archie Mac