Pakistan A win by two wickets

Pakistan A scraped together a two wicket win, in their 20/20 match against Australia A in Cairns, during the Top End Series.

This was a great match on a sporting pitch, which would have once been described as a ‘good cricket wicket’, that gave help to batsman and bowler alike.

Australia A won the toss an elected to bat, but were off to a bad start when Phil Jaques was run out for just six (9-1). Worse was to follow when Shane Watson was bowled first ball by Wasim Khan (10-2).

Meanwhile Mark Cosgrove kept the scoreboard ticking, with some intelligent hitting, but unfortunately Australia A continued to lose wickets at the other end. Captain Brad Haddin fell for seven (51-3), and Travis Birt was run out for four (59-4).

Pakistan A were fielding and catching magnificently, and the pressure finally told on James Hopes (10) who was stumped going for ambitious drive in an attempt to lift the run rate. This made the score 73-5 off 11 overs.

Pakistan A claimed the prize wicket of Cosgrove for a well made 44, again due to a fine catch this time by Mohammad Irshad off the bowling of Mohammad Hafeez (85-6).

Shaun Marsh 23 shaped up well hitting two sixes, and with help from the tail Australia A limped to a score of all out 122 from exactly 20 overs. The Pakistan A bowlers shared the wickets, which was fitting, for they had bowled and fielded like a true Team.

Chasing only six an over Pakistan A started well, at one stage being 27-0 before Shaun Tait and Brett Dorey combined to claim three quick wickets and reduce the visitors to 30-3.

Opener Mohammad Hafeez and Bazid Khan then combined for a steadying 39 run partnership for the fourth wicket. Before Mohammad Hafeez was caught Dorey off the bowling of Watson for 39 (69-4 – 11 overs).

Australia kept finding ways of taking wickets, and when Watson brilliantly ran out Bazid Khan for 20 (107-8), it seemed with two overs and the same number of wickets remaining that Australia A would win.

Pakistan A however were not to be denied and Abdur Rehman 12* and Mohammad Irshad 6*, scrambled the visitors to an impressive victory.

Australia A 122
Mark Cosgrove 44, Shaun Marsh 23
Mansoor Amjad 2-28, Abdur Rehman 1-15

Pakistan A 123-8
Mohammad Hafeez 39, Bazid Khan 20
Shaun Tait 3-23, Brett Dorey 2-18

Pakistan A won by 2 wickets

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Archie Mac