NZ Squads for Australian series

New Zealand have named two teams to play against International A and Academy teams in Australia in June and July.

The World Cup is obviously central in the plans for New Zealand Cricket judging from the teams, which include many players with a chance of being included in the squad that departs for the West Indies next year.

Among the players named are discarded test batsmen Mathew Sinclair, Lou Vincent, James Marshall and Craig McMillan, along with those who are certain to play a major role in New Zealand cricket in the next decade in Team One captain Peter Fulton, Jamie How, Jesse Ryder and Ross Taylor.

Youth is also mainly the focus among the bowlers, with a number of promising young first-class performers in the squads, including Graeme Aldridge, Richard Sherlock, Hamish Bennett and Bruce Martin.

Team One: Peter Fulton (captain), James Marshall, Graham Aldridge, Brendan Diamanti, Mark Gillespie, Jamie How, Michael Mason, Nathan McCullum, Peter McGlashan, Warren McSkimming, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Lou Vincent.

Coach: Bob Carter
Manager: Sir Richard Hadlee

Team Two: Craig McMillan (captain), Matthew Bell, Hamish Bennett, Gareth Hopkins, Bruce Martin, Chris Martin, Kyle Mills, Rob Nicol, Mark Orchard, Michael Papps, Jeetan Patel, Mathew Sinclair, Richard Sherlock.

Coach: Mark O’Donnell
Manager: Dayle Hadlee

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Richard Edmunds