NZ squad for ODIs against SA

The New Zealand squad has been named for the 5 ODI series in South Africa next month, with no changes from the squad for the ODI tournament in Zimbabwe apart from one major move, with Chris Cairns being left out in favour of test regular James Franklin.

Cairns was disappointing in Zimbabwe and coach John Bracewell said that since his retirement from tests he has had difficulty keeping his fitness and form up to international standard, and that it was an important decision to make with the 2007 World Cup in mind, but at the same time Bracewell made it clear that Cairns is not completely out of the selectors’ minds and can regain his place if he performs well at lower levels.

The decision comes as a minor surprise, but it could be said that it was unfair that Cairns seemingly continued to be an automatic inclusion in the side for a long time despite a lack of success.

The Black Caps play a Twenty20 international against South Africa at Johannesburg on the 21st of October, before the 5-match ODI series begins at Bloemfontein on the 23rd.

NZ Squad: Stephen Fleming (Captain), Andre Adams, Nathan Astle, Shane Bond, James Franklin, Hamish Marshall, James Marshall, Brendon McCullum, Craig McMillan, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Scott Styris, Daniel Vettori, Lou Vincent, Jeetan Patel.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Richard Edmunds