McGrath to miss out

Glenn McGrath’s elbow injury has been the topic of a great deal of speculation over the past few days, and Australia’s fears have been confirmed in the last moments before the fourth test. McGrath was put through the paces in a last minute fitness test, and has been ruled out of selection.

The absence of their most experienced seamer may prove costly for Australia, as their seam attack will also lack the experienced Jason Gillespie. Michael Kasprowicz will replace McGrath, and is likely to take the change bowling duties behind the dangerous but erratic Brett Lee and debutant Shaun Tait. Gillespie has been ommitted due to form for the first time in his lengthy career, and doubts will now arise about his ability to work his way back in to the Australian lineup in the future. Shaun Tait has been rewarded with his first test cap after a stellar season in the Pura Cup, and many cricket fans the world over will get their first glimpse of him today.

England have named an unchanged team from that which narrowly missed out on victory in the third test at Old Trafford.

Australia: Justin Langer, Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting (c), Damien Martyn, Michael Clarke, Simon Katich, Adam Gilchrist (k), Shane Warne, Brett Lee, Michael Kasprowicz, Shaun Tait.

England: Andrew Strauss, Marcus Trescothick, Michael Vaughan (c), Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Andrew Flintoff, Geraint Jones (k), Ashely Giles, Matthew Hoggard, Steve Harmison, Simon Jones.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Sean Fuller