McGrath and Lee to play

Capping off a remarkable recovery from a serious ankle injury, Glenn McGrath has passed a fitness test on the morning of the Old Trafford test and been selected in the final XI.

Brett Lee also recovered from his injury as hoped, and has been selected in the team. Michael Kasprowicz misses out from the second test, but Australia will no doubt recieve a massive boost from the inclusion of their champion seam bowler.

Glenn McGrath devastated England in the first test, taking 9 wickets, including his 500th, and winning the Man of the Match award.

England team:
Marcus Trescothick, Andrew Strauss, Michael Vaughan (c), Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Andrew Flintoff, Geraint Jones (wk), Ashley Giles, Matthew Hoggard, Steve Harmison, Simon Jones

Australia team:
Justin Langer, Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting (c), Damien Martyn, Michael Clarke, Simon Katich, Adam Gilchrist (wk), Shane Warne, Brett Lee, Jason Gillespie, Glenn McGrath

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Sean Fuller