Jayasuriya returns for NZ tour

A surprising omission from the Sri Lankan team for the recent tour of India, former captain Sanath Jayasuriya has returned to the team for the four match ODI series against New Zealand, a completion of last season’s series which was called off due to the Tsunami tragedy.

Jayasuriya’s dropping was not a popular one and attracted a lot of criticism, and so his return is a welcome one for Sri Lankan supporters.

Sri Lanka squad: Marvan Attapattu (captain), Chaminda Vaas, Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Farveez Maharoof, Muttiah Muralitharan, Avishka Gunawardene, Lasith Malinga, Malinga Bandara, Jehan Mubarak, Russel Arnold, Ruchira Perera, Dilhara Fernando.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Richard Edmunds