Ireland name Cup squad

Former captain Jason Molins has been omitted from Ireland’s first-ever World Cup squad, for the tournament early in 2007. Kenny Carroll took his place in a squad that will be looking to surprise a few people in the Caribbean.

With Ed Joyce having been taken by England, his brother Dominick will take up a spot in the middle order, alongside Middlesex batsman Eoin Morgan and Kent wicketkeeper Niall O’Brien. The Irish are expected to field an Australian-born new-ball attack, as captain Trent Johnston is supported by Dave Langford-Smith.

Northants’ Andrew White will also be part of the squad, while Kyle McCallan takes the vice-captain’s role. The squad is the same 15 players that won the European Championships earlier this year.

Ireland squad: T Johnston (capt), K McCallan (vice-capt), A Botha, J Bray, K Carroll, P Gillespie, J Mooney, P Mooney, E Morgan, K O’Brien, N O’Brien, W Porterfield, B Rankin, D Langford-Smith, A White.
Reserves: M Fourie, G Kidd, J Molins, R Whelan, G Wilson.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Matt Pitt