Ganguly left out for ODIs

Sourav Ganguly has not been included in India’s 15-man ODI squad to play Pakistan, while Zaheer Khan returns.

Ganguly was also left out of the squad for the home series against Sri Lanka and South Africa, while Khan has not played ODI cricket since the Africa-Asia series in August.

Khan’s inclusion, in the place of all rounder Jai P Yadav, is the only change from the squad that drew 2-2 with South Africa. He is one of five specialist fast bowlers in the squad, a move based on the conditions.

Ganguly will return to India after the conclusion of the test series, and will be joined by VVS Laxman, Anil Kumble, Wasim Jaffer and Parthiv Patel, while Murali Kartik, Sreesanth, Mohammad Kaif and Suresh Raina head in the opposite direction. BCCI secretary Niranjan Shah offered no comment on the future of Kumble, Laxman and Ganguly’s ODI careers.

Indian ODI Squad: Rahul Dravid (c), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Dhoni (wk), Gautam Gambhir, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan, R P Singh, Murali Kartik, Harbhajan Singh, S Sreesanth.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Alex Crampton