Flintoff Unlikely to Bowl

England coach Duncan Fletcher confirmed that star allrounder and Captain Andrew Flintoff is unlikely to bowl in the Champion’s Trophy in a bid to concentrate on getting him firing at his best for the upcoming Ashes series which starts in Australia next month.

Speaking to the BBC Fletcher said “We’re not pushing it”.
“I don’t think he will bowl. It’s not a hard and fast rule. He might bowl at the back end but if he does, it won’t be ten overs. He might get four or five overs”.

“That’s up to the medical staff but as far as I’m concerned Flintoff must be ready to bowl in [the first Ashes Test] in Brisbane and whatever’s required for him to do that we will do.”

Flintoff the batsman is traveling well. He made 50 in England’s warm-up match which they won against a Rajasthan Cricket Association team on Thursday.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Michelle Hamberger