Final Super Series squads named

The final squads for the much-anticipated Super Series between Australia and the ICC World XI in October this year have finally been announced, after months of anticipation and speculation. The squads have a few surprises thrown in, but largely comprise those widely recognised as the best in the world in both forms of the game.

South African captains both past and present have been picked to lead the squads, with current skipper Graeme Smith in charge of the test lineup while veteran all-rounder and former national captain Shaun Pollock leads the one day side. The final squad for the Super Test at the SCG has been trimmed to a lean 13, while 14 players have been selected for the three match one day series in Melbourne. Among those notable names who have not made the teams are Inzamam-Ul-Haq, Anil Kumble and Shivnarine Chanderpaul, while Kumar Sangakkara, widely recognised as the world’s second best keeper-batsman, has been picked for the one day squad only, while another member of the South African contingent in Mark Boucher will do the keeping duties in the Supertest.

Nine lucky names have made both squads, with South Africa leading the representation in both formats with four players in each squad and six overall.

World XI Test Squad
Graeme Smith (c), Rahul Dravid (vc), Jacques Kallis, Shaun Pollock, Mark Boucher, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Andrew Flintoff, Steve Harmison, Brian Lara, Shoaib Akhtar, Muttiah Muralitharan, Daniel Vettori.

World XI ODI Squad
Shaun Pollock (c), Sachin Tendulkar (vc), Jacques Kallis, Herschelle Gibbs, Makhaya Ntini, Kevin Pietersen, Andrew Flintoff, Kumar Sangakkara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Akhtar, Virender Sehwag, Brian Lara, Daniel Vettori.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Sean Fuller