England Twenty20 squad announced

There was no place for Test batsmen Michael Vaughan and Andrew Strauss when England’s 15 man Twenty20 squad was revealed today with selectors opting for Twenty20 specialists for the inaugural tournament.

Vikram Solanki, Jeremy Snape, James Kirtley, Darren Maddy and Chris Schofield head the list of lesser known cricketers that will make their way to South Africa in September.

Andrew Flintoff also continues his successful comeback from ankle surgery with a return to the England squad. He is also expected to be fit for England’s seven match one day series, starting later this month.

“The World Twenty20 tournament will be new ground for everyone and we feel that combining players with experience of one-day international cricket together with Twenty20 ‘specialists’ will give us the best possible chance of success,” said head selector David Graveney.

England Twenty20 World Cup squad: Paul Collingwood (captain), Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Andrew Flintoff, James Kirtley, Darren Maddy, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior (wk), Chris Schofield, Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom, Jeremy Snape, Vikram Solanki, Chris Tremlett, Luke Wright

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Zac Gelman