Doctrove will not stand

Billy Doctrove has not been named in the ICC’s list of officals for the Champion’s Trophy despite being on the elite panel. The Bermudan is the newest member of the ICC’s elite panel however, and has stood in just nine Test matches.

The only other elite umpire not included is Darrell Hair, Doctrove’s partner in the forfeited Oval Test. Hair was ruled out last week amid “security concerns”

An ICC spokesman said to BBC Sport that there was “nothing sinister” behind the decision, and added “There were only going to be eight umpires, It doesn’t mean Billy Doctrove is a bad umpire.” Two other men involved in the Oval test and resulting hearing are included on the lists, Mike Procter, match referee of the Test match, and Ranjan Maduagalle who oversaw Inzamam Ul-Haq’s hearing. Both on-field umpires came in for criticism from Madugalle during the hearing for the way they handled the situation.

The ICC selects their umpires based on a five-point assessment for each match they stand in. The areas looked at include percentage of correct decisions, ability to cope with pressure, player management, communication and application of regulations.

ICC Champion’s Trophy match referees
Mike Procter (South Africa), Jeff Crowe (New Zealand), Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)

ICC Champion’s Trophy umpires
Aleem Dar (Pakistan), Asad Rauf (Pakistan), Mark Benson (England), Billy Bowden (New Zealand), Steve Bucknor (West Indies), Daryl Harper (Australia), Rudi Koertzen (South Africa), Simon Taufel (Australia)

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Alex Crampton