Deja vu – WI 2nd stringers to SL

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has named an understrength team to tour Sri Lanka later this month. Due to the contract dispute between the Board and the Players Association (WIPA), the likes of Brian Lara, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Chris Gayle are among the big names omitted.

The 14-man party will be led by incumbent Shivnarine Chanderpaul, who took over the captaincy from Brian Lara earlier this year, on the back on similar disputes. Of the 14, 8 players are currently in Sri Lanka with the West Indies ‘A’ team, whilst another 2 will join the squad from England.

With a pace-heavy showing, some five seam bowlers have been included, with the only name standing out as a genuine spin option, Omari Banks.

The dispute has revolved around sponsorship fees, as the amount requested by WIPA has been deemed unacceptable and unaffordable by the WICB. Further, there is dispute over controversial Clause B of the Match/Tour contract, which pertains to personal endorsements for the players.

West Indies Touring Party
S Chanderpaul (C), D Ramdin (wk), XM Marshall, R Ramdass, RS Morton, SC Joseph, NO Deonarine, DR Smith, OAC Banks, DB Powell, TL Best, KCG Jeremy, DC Butler, JJC Lawson.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Liam Camps