Challenger Trophy Starts

The Challenger Trophy, played in India, with the purpose of show-casing the talent that the country has, as well as providing opportunities to younger players to make an impression, gets underway tomorrow (February 7) at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

The annual tournament, which will celebrate it’s tenth edition this year, is played between three sides made up 36 of the best players in India. Unfortunately, this edition will not be telecasted live like the previous nine editions, because of BCCI’s inability to work out a deal with a network.

Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and Virendar Sehwag will lead the three sides this year. Sachin Tendulkar has been rested, as he recovers from his elbow injury.

India Seniors:
Sourav Ganguly (captain), MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Venugopal Rao, Niraj Patel, Irfan Pathan, Anil Kumble, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Gagandeep Singh, Rajesh Pawar, Shikhar Dhawan.

India A:
Rahul Dravid (captain), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Satyajit Parab, Dheeraj Jadhav, Mohammad Kaif, Dinesh Mongia, Murali Kartik, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan, Rudra Pratap Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Robin Uthappa.

India B:
Virender Sehwag (captain), Parthiv Patel (wicket-keeper), Gautam Gambhir, VVS Laxman, Sridharan Sriram, Rohan Gavaskar, Ramesh Powar, Joginder Sharma, Ashish Nehra, Shib Shankar Paul, Amit Bhandari, Ambati Rayudu.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Richard Twyman