Baugh and Edwards sacked

Three players have been excluded for the upcoming one-day international series in Pakistan, having served in the recent Champions Trophy. Carlton Baugh jr., Fidel Edwards and Wavell Hinds have been omitted from 15-man party.

Incumbent Test wicketkeeper, Denesh Ramdin will make a return to ODI cricket, having been displaced by Baugh in the series against Zimbabwe earlier this year. Edwards was replaced by Daren Powell for the second Test against Pakistan, and is now replaced in the ODI squad by the same bowler.

The uncapped Trinidadian opener, Lendl Simmons makes his way into the squad along with countryman Dave Mohammed. Mohammed is the only specialist spinner in the squad. He has played 3 ODI matches to date, taking 6 wickets at 12.66 apiece.

West Indies ODI squad:
BC Lara (c), RR Sarwan (vc), D Ramdin, CH Gayle, RS Morton, S Chanderpaul, MN Samuels, DJJ Bravo, DR Smith, LMP Simmons, D Mohammed, JE Taylor, IDR Bradshaw, CD Collymore, DB Powell.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Liam Camps