Ashes Umpires Named

The International Cricket Council has announced the four umpires who will stand in this summer’s Ashes series between England and Australia.

The first two Test matches of the series will see Pakistan’s Aleem Dar and South African Rudi Koertzen as the on field officials.

The third and fourth Test matches will then see the colourful character of New Zealand’s Billy Bowden and Test veteran Steve Bucknor from the West Indies.

The officials in the final Test will be Billy Bowden and Rudi Koertzen; meanwhile Ranjan Madugalle will oversee the entire series as the match referee.

Rudi Koertzen will continue to his role as he stands in all three one-day internationals matches between England and Australia that precede the Ashes. David Shepherd who will be officiating in his final international will join Koertzen in the third of these matches.

First Test: Aleem Dar & Rudi Koertzen
Second Test: Aleem Dar & Rudi Koertzen
Third Test: Billy Bowden & Steve Bucknor
Fourth Test: Billy Bowden & Steve Bucknor
Fifth Test: Billy Bowden & Rudi Koertzen

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Richard Twyman