• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Noob's corner #1

jan

State Vice-Captain
Being encouraged in the newcomer thread I got to start this cricket inquiry one. Googled and probably understood some of the answers but still would like feedback from real fans. Please remember Im new to the game and my country is not to the game at all. Here goes volume 1 of be-nice-to-your-local-noob :)

General:
  1. Is there somebody here whose country does not play cricket?
  2. How many of you play/played cricket? Play for fun or for a club?
  3. Whats the status of cricket in your county? I can guess its no.1 in IND, PAK but in other cricketing countries where theres football, rugby?
  4. How do cricketers compare to other sportsmen in terms of income, workload and popularity?
  5. How does a sports-talented kid become a cricketer? When do they (their parents) decide and why choose cricket when there are more/more attractive sports to choose from.

Cricket formats and competitions:
  1. In terms of prestige it goes Test > ODI > T20? Tests and ODIs for international matches only and T20 for both int. and domestic, right?
  2. How and why those formats developed? Was it because of television for which Tests are awfully long?
  3. Which domestic league is considered the best?
  4. Why is cricket not an olympic sport despite its very long existence?
  5. Why the first wc took place as late as 1975?